Skip to content

Fire

2 questions, with yearly data from 1980 to 2025.

Questions

QuestionYearsTrust
How many people die in fires in each country?156 countries fire deaths per 100,000 peopleFire · World1980–202460 Moderate
How many people die in fires in Norway?39 people who died in fires, 2025Fire · Norway1980–202582 High
Who publishes what (1 countries, 2 breakdowns)

Years this site has for each country and breakdown. "Stopped" means the country's figures in the UN homicide file stop after that year while its totals continue (reporting gaps). An empty cell means no source on this site, not that none exists.

CountryPeople by sexPeople by age
NOR1980–20251980–2025
Recorded changes in how sources report (125)
  • 2025, FHI: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2025, 0-29: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2025, 30-49: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2025, 50-69: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2025, 70-89: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2025, 90+: The table by age hides small cells (":", "anonymised or hidden for other reasons"), so several age groups have no value in many years, including 30-49 and 90 and over in 2025. source · page
  • 2023, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 17 in 2022 to 54 in 2023. The two figures come from Report 31 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2022, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 57 in 2021 to 5 in 2022. The two figures come from Report 31 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2022, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 44 in 2021 to 184 in 2022. The two figures come from Report 31 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2021, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 3 in 2020 to 57 in 2021. The two figures come from Report 31 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2020, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 21 in 2019 to 69 in 2020. The two figures come from Report 30 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2020, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 150 in 2019 to 42 in 2020. The two figures come from Report 30 and Report 31, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2020, FHI: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, Men: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, Women: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, Both sexes: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, 0-29: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, 30-49: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, 50-69: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, 70-89: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2020, 90+: FHI moved to electronic death certificates in 2020/2021. The change it describes concerns hip fractures and falls; it names no effect on fire deaths. source · page
  • 2019, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 131 in 2018 to 21 in 2019. The two figures come from Report 29 and Report 30, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2018, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 31 in 2017 to 131 in 2018. The two figures come from Report 28 and Report 29, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2017, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 32 in 2016 to 6 in 2017. The two figures come from Report 27 and Report 28, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2017, FHI: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, Men: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, Women: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, Both sexes: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, 0-29: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, 30-49: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, 50-69: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, 70-89: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2017, 90+: With the 2017 data FHI changed how it handles deaths not reported to the register and how it works out whether a person was resident in Norway, which changed some earlier years. source · page
  • 2016, WHO: WHO's data for this country switch from ICD-9 to ICD-10 in 2016: fire deaths are ICD-10 X00-X09 (exposure to smoke, fire and flames) from 2016, and ICD-9 Basic Tabulation List item B51 (E890-E899, accidents caused by fire and flames) up to 1991. source · page
  • 2016, DSB: DSB's reporting system BRIS came into use on 1 January 2016. Salten 110-sentral joined on 26 April 2016, and DSB states that BRIS statistics on deaths lack 2 people from that area in 2016. source · page
  • 2016, Men: DSB's reporting system BRIS came into use on 1 January 2016. Salten 110-sentral joined on 26 April 2016, and DSB states that BRIS statistics on deaths lack 2 people from that area in 2016. source · page
  • 2016, Women: DSB's reporting system BRIS came into use on 1 January 2016. Salten 110-sentral joined on 26 April 2016, and DSB states that BRIS statistics on deaths lack 2 people from that area in 2016. source · page
  • 2015, CTIF: CTIF's count goes from 67 in 2014 to 8 in 2015. The two figures come from Report 25 and Report 26, and the reports give no reason for the change. source · page
  • 2014, WHO: WHO's data for this country switch from ICD-9 to ICD-10 in 2014: fire deaths are ICD-10 X00-X09 (exposure to smoke, fire and flames) from 2014, and ICD-9 Basic Tabulation List item B51 (E890-E899, accidents caused by fire and flames) up to 1991. source · page
  • 2014, WHO: WHO's data for this country switch from ICD-9 to ICD-10 in 2014: fire deaths are ICD-10 X00-X09 (exposure to smoke, fire and flames) from 2014, and ICD-9 Basic Tabulation List item B51 (E890-E899, accidents caused by fire and flames) up to 2013. source · page

85 more on the topic's pages.